U21 Awards - Recognition Schemes

The U21 Awards is an annual chance to recognize and celebrate the best in international collaboration across the network. 

U21 Awards - who to nominate


Voting is now closed for our 2022 Awards. Information about our 2023 Awards will be coming soon.

Nominating colleagues or teams

If you are planning to nominate young alumni or current students for a Leaders of the Future Award, please review the criteria and submit the form.

Nominating young alumni or current students

If you would like to see previous winners of the U21 Award, visit our Previous Winners page. Please note 2022 was the inaugural awarding of the Leaders of the Future Award for young alumni or current students.

The Gilbert Medal Award (2012-2020)

From 2012- 2020 the Gilbert Award recognised outstanding achievement in the internationalisation of higher education, named in honour of Professor Alan Gilbert, founder of the Universitas 21 network and major lifelong proponent of the benefits of internationalisation.

Find out more