University of Johannesburg

The University of Johannesburg (UJ), a proudly South African University, rooted in the vibrant and multicultural city of Johannesburg, reflects the same energy and embraces its diversity with equal passion. With four campuses and around 48,000 students, UJ is one of the largest multi-campus residential universities in the country. Noted for its strength in Science Technology, Engineering and Mathematics, UJ offers a comprehensive menu of programmes on a bedrock of distinguished scholarship, excellence in teaching, reputable research and innovation in nine faculties:

  • Art Design & Architecture
  • Education
  • Economics and Financial Sciences
  • Engineering and Built Environment
  • Health Sciences
  • Humanities
  • Law
  • Management
  • Science

Founded in 2005, from the merger between the former Rand Afrikaans University (RAU), the Technikon Witwatersrand (TWR) and the Soweto and the East Rand campuses of Vista University, the University of Johannesburg’s unique academic architecture reflects a comprehensive range of learning programmes, leading to a variety of qualifications, from vocational and traditional academic to professional and postgraduate, across the four campuses - Auckland Park Kingsway, Auckland Park Bunting Road, Doornfontein and Soweto. The campuses vary in size and each has its own character and culture, contributing to the institution’s rich diversity.

UJ offers its students various support facilities that aid individuals to succeed holistically in life and their studies. These include: career development services offered to Grade 11 and 12 Learners; assisting first year students with adapting to the academic, emotional and social demands of university life; academic development and tutoring services;  reading and language development; campus health services; the availability of computer laboratories; as well as extended curriculum programmes are on offer.

UJ’s facilities include expansive libraries on each of the campuses, 23 sporting codes to choose from (either competitively or recreationally) and a host of arts and culture activities including dance and drama groups, choirs, drumming circles, recitals and ballroom dancing.

The University’s academics are leaders in their respective fields and disciplines, as reflected in the phenomenal growth of rated researchers. UJ’s number of A-rated researchers, the top echelon of South African academic achievers, now stands at six, with a rapidly-growing number of B- and C-rated researchers. The university is also home to 20 research centres and seven National Research Foundation Chairs.

UJ has positioned itself within the rich diversity of South Africa's community and continues to draw on existing and latent intellectual capacity, leadership and innovation in all communities and further afield, as it constructs itself as a premier African university. Thee University continue to build a culture of inclusion, embracing South Africa’s rich histories, cultures, languages, religions, genders, races, and social and economic statuses.

Additionally, the University encourages a culture of service as part of the university student experience and it proudly pursues a four-language policy of English, isiZulu, Afrikaans and Sesotho sa Leboa.

Internationalisation at UJ means the implementation of international cooperation on academic activities and the international enrichment of our curricula in pursuit of excellence in scholarship and the dissemination of knowledge. With links, partnerships and exchange agreements with leading African and other international Institutions, the University of Johannesburg is continuing a rich legacy of internationalisation, enhancing its scholarly reputation and impact on national transformation agenda.