New Chair of U21 Research Leaders' Group

Professor Arturo Molina

U21 welcomes a new Chair to the Research Leaders' Group. Professor Arturo Molina Gutiérrez, Vice President of Research and Technology Transfer at Tecnológico de Monterrey takes on the role and joins Professor Jonathan Morris (University of New South Wales, Sydney) as Co-Chair of the Researcher Engagement Cluster.

Professor Molina says: “I am honored to lead our collaboration in order to enhance the impact of U21 on a global scale by maximising our research initiatives with all the network members.  I thank our former Chair, Professor Andy Hor (University of Hong Kong), for his leadership and efforts in building a great community of practice.

As the new Chair I hope to identify a number of key projects that can take advantage of our network diversity which varies in geography, culture, disciplines and missions. I look to enrich the work of U21 by driving mission projects and outcomes for the network.”  

Professor Molina is an alumnus of Tecnológico de Monterrey having undertaken his undergraduate and Masters degree in Mexico. He went on to receive two doctorates in Manufacturing Engineering and Mechanical Engineering from Loughborough University of Technology and the Technical University of Budapest, respectively.

He is an active member of various organisations including the National Researchers System of Mexico (SNI-Nivel III), the Working Group on Enterprise Integration Architectures and Cooperation of Virtual Enterprises and Virtual Organisations. Professor Molina's current research interests include synchronising engineering technologies and manufacturing, enterprise integration engineering, technology management, and research and development for the automotive, construction and energy sectors.

Professor Bairbre Redmond, U21 Provost, offered her congratulations:

“At a time when U21 universities are occupied with continuing to thrive in tandem with the impact of Covid-19, I am most appreciative of Professor Molina’s willingness to take on leadership of the important Research Leaders' Group and for his vision for supporting its successful development. I know that, along with Professor Jonathan Morris, his Co-Chair, that the Researcher Engagement Cluster will go from strength to strength.”

Connie Wan