Nominate the 2019 winners of the Gilbert Medal and U21 Awards

Nominations are now open for the 2019 Gilbert Medal and U21 Awards, which recognise and celebrate some of the core objectives of U21.   

U21 aims to increase the understanding, trust and partnership between international research-intensive universities around the world, strengthening collaboration and enhancing teaching, learning and research across physical boundaries. 

The Gilbert Medal recognises inspirational figures who have demonstrated outstanding achievement in the internationalisation of Higher Education outside of the U21 network and is named after the late Professor Alan Gilbert, founder of Universitas 21.  In 2018 the Gilbert Medal was awarded to Professor Bruce Chapman whose work on income contingent loans for students has had direct and indirect impact on higher education systems and higher education funding policies globally  Professor Chapman joined an impressive group of previous winners including Professor Mary McAleese, the eighth president of Ireland.   

Gilbert Medal
Gilbert Medal

The U21 Awards recognise an individual or team within a U21 member university, who have made an important contribution to the internationalisation of Higher Education.  Awards have been given to previous winners who have enhanced relationships in the U21 network, undertaken exceptional research or facilitated international learning opportunities. 

We would encourage you to take this opportunity to publically recognise individuals who are making a real difference to international Higher Education. Please download and complete the nomination forms below and return to no later than Friday 28th September 2018.   


Gilbert Medal Nomination Form

U21 Awards Nomination Form


Rachel Edwards