U21 Three Minute Thesis® 2019 - Winners Announced

Cody Frear

U21 are delighted to announce that Cody Frear from The University of Queensland has won first prize in the 2019 3MT® with his video 'Negative Pressure Wound Therapy in Paediatric Burns: No-No or Noo-Noo?'. The Faculty of Medicine student had already won in a final against seven other University of Queensland PhD candidates, presenting his research into the treatment of paediatric burns using negative pressure wound therapy. 

Emma Elliott from the University of Glasgow has been highly commended by the U21 judging panel for her presentation 'Draw me a clock' where she describes how different cognitive tests and assessments can be used to detect memory and thinking problems, and whether the tests used early on are suited to busy stroke units.

For those who voted in our People's Choice Awards, you have selected Chidinma Raymond from the University of Nottingham as your winner. Her video 'The Thief with many faces: Investigating Hepatitis B virus' received nearly half of total votes we received. 

We offer our congratulations to our winners, and to everyone who took part. We would also like to acknowledge the judging panel who took part this year:

  • Associate Professor Caroline Daley, Chair of the U21 Deans and Directors of Graduate Studies, University of Auckland
  • Kerrie Kennedy, Deputy Editor, The PIE News
  • Professor Laura Poole-Warren, University of New South Wales, Sydney
  • Professor Maria Pramaggiore, Dean of Graduate Studies, Maynooth University
  • Sally Jeffery, Partner, PwC Middle East

You can still view all of the U21 3MT® for 2019 entries here

Connie Wan